Aries / 21 March - 20 April

Ruled by Mars, Aries is the first sign of the Zodiac, known as the initiator. Much like the first born in a family, the rams lead by example and always strive to be not only the first, but the best, at everything they do. At times they can be rambunctious due to their overzealous personalities and fiery natures. However, they’ll fight for those whom they care about without hesitation, and stand up for their beliefs.

Leo / 23 July - 22 August

The Sun rules the friendly, proud lion, whose generous, loyal, and artistic nature is admired by all. Ruled by their ego, Leos tend to instinctively put themselves first— a trait others can learn from. There is no other sign as generous as the lion, whose huge heart and sensitive nature is openly shared with loved ones and those that they fully trust.

Sagittarius / 22 November - 21 December

The archer is ruled by Jupiter, the planet of expansion. Sagittarians like to travel the world, learn new philosophies, try exotic flavours, and tend to have a flair for gambling in all areas of life. They combine exploration with wisdom and are known for their adventurous spirits. They are also known to be innately wise, having learned through life experience and travel.

Taurus / 20 April - 21 May

The bull is one of two signs ruled by Venus and represents the earthy, physical, and sensual influence of the Planet of Love and Money. Taureans are the creative, hard workers of the Zodiac, who use their immense energy to produce and design beautiful things for the enjoyment of all. Loyal to the core, they’ll never leave the side of their friends and family — even if they don’t see eye-to-eye with them.

Virgo / 23 August - 23 September

The maiden is ruled by Mercury, which represents the mind and intellect. Virgoans use their analytical nature to understand and observe the world. They wait patiently for change on earth and use their kind sentiments to stimulate people to evolve freely. Their words are thoroughly thought out before they speak to avoid conflict with others, making them one of the most reflective and fair-minded signs of the Zodiac.

Capricorn / 22 December - 20 January

The hardworking sea-goat ruled by taskmaster Saturn has a practical and mature sensibility around work and relationships. Capricorns are devoted to ensuring everyone and everything in their lives are taken care of, and they push others to succeed. At the core, they are sentimental, reflective, intuitive, and caring. They mask their sentiments with a tough exterior to make sure that everyone does their part to create a better world and society for all.

Cancer / 21 June - 22 July

Ruled by the Moon, the crabs tend to let their hearts guide them. They have the ability to view the world from a sideways perspective and are able to see through the darkness (being creatures of the evening). They are protective and use their sensitivities to understand their surroundings. With their strong intuition, Cancerians use their emotions to direct them towards the truth.

Scorpio / 23 October - 22 November

As a water sign ruled traditionally by Mars and in more modern times by Pluto, Scorpios - with undying dedication and passion - are known to achieve anything they set their minds and hearts to. They are almost eerily intuitive and intensely loyal. Scorpios are also transformative and evolutionary, enabling them to grow and change to improve their personal situations. Just be wary not to poke them, as they’ll use their stingers to fight back.

Pisces / 19 February - 20 March

Ruled traditionally by Jupiter and in modernity by Neptune, the fish represent the fruits of the imagination. They are the creative visionaries of the Zodiac. They are deeply empathetic to the point of being psychic and staunchly rely on intuition rather than facts. Pisces need to live freely and without constraint, just as the fish swim in the ocean - they live life through their hearts, imagination, and artistry. These creative souls swim to their own beat, which is why they’re marveled at as the trailblazers of the Zodiac.

Gemini / 21 May - 21 June

Ruled by the winged messenger Mercury, the twins are the only dual sign in the Zodiac, meaning they are two separate entities bound together within one symbol. Known for their dualistic and chatty nature, the twins are master communicators. Their ability to see both sides of a situation enables them to find truth in all matters. They are able to find positions of compromise to enable all parties to find a middle ground from which to move forward.

Libra / 23 September - 23 October

As the second sign ruled by Venus, Librans are represented by the Scales of Justice. They are concerned with keeping a fair balance in areas concerning love and money. The scales also represent the airy and critical side of Venus. They critique the arts and society to improve life for all. Librans are the only sign whose symbol is an inanimate object, so that they are truly objective in their decision making.

Aquarius / 20 January - 19 February

As an air sign ruled traditionally by Saturn and in modernity by Uranus, the cup-bearers are known to question the limits and boundaries of society through innovative and humanitarian activism. They are the visionaries who work with the benefit of information rather than emotion. However, they use sentimentality to forge bonds with others, and give of themselves freely to change the status quo. Aquarians are the revolutionaries and rebels who incite global and humanitarian change.